Tags

, ,

15998621

So, my sister recommended that I read “Dinner with a Vampire (The Dark Heroine #1) ” by Abigail Gibbs. I have completed the mission and here are my thoughts.

First of all, the books title did not impress me. What it brought to my mind immediately was the restaurant scene in Twilight between Bella and Edward. Maybe that’s just my own ‘connect the dots’ problem but I personally was then expecting a rip-off novel. I was however, so totally wrong. Yeah! Being wrong is cool sometimes, especially when you get to thoroughly enjoy a novel you pre-perceived to be rubbish. So anyway…this Abigail girl is the real deal. At only 18 years old, she writes like a pro. The main character is 17 year old Violet, a petite, tough girl with an attitude. She gets swept up into the vampires world when she inadvertently witnesses a mass murder by the royal vamp clan. So she is forced to stay at their mansion while they decide what to do with her. They don’t want to kill her because her Dad is a high ranking public official and the vamps have a secret agreement with the government to stay out of their affairs in exchange for basically the same respect. Of course there are hot guy vamps and bitchy girl vamps all messing with her at the mansion. And while this all sounds kind of lame the way I am describing it, it goes a lot deeper. There are other “realms” or dimensions, with other powerful and interesting beings and a prophecy of the heroines that comes in to play. There is a lot more to this book than the budding romance between the main characters. The writing is perfectly descriptive and I could not find anything to complain about besides the title. Anyway….I am jonesing for some zombies so next is “The Voyage of the Dead, (Soveriegn Spirit Saga #1)” by David P. Forsyth, who has intrigued me with his witty comments on Facebook. 🙂